MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE NORTH DAKOTA BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY - May 4th, 2020

<u>Present</u>: Board members Marcus Hieb, Jeanne DeKrey, Dave Relling, Cassie Christensen, and Daniel Conn; as well as Executive Officer Bruce Wessman; board counsel Jack McDonald; and board physical therapist liaison Brittany Anderson. The meeting was conducted via conference call.

Board President Jeanne DeKrey called this Annual Meeting of the North Dakota Board of Physical Therapy (NDBPT) to order at 9:00 am on Monday, May 4, 2020.

<u>Approval of previous meeting minutes</u>: After a name correction on the March 3, 2020, minutes, it was moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Dan Conn and approved unanimously to accept the minutes of the May 6, 2019; October 10, 2019; March 3, 2020; and April 14, 2020, meetings.

<u>Disciplinary Action</u>: The board discussed the late renewal of Natalie Purcell, a physical therapist. It was moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Cassie Christensen, and approved unanimously to assess the normal late fee for renewal and to place a private letter of reprimand in her file.

Continuing competence requirements during the Covid-19 crisis: Given the financial burden on licensees during the Covid-19 pandemic, it was moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Dan Conn and approved unanimously to lower the total number of required continuous competence units to 12 for the renewal periods beginning November 1, 2020 and November 1, 2021. In addition, all licensees will be required to complete the Juris Prudence examination during this upcoming renewal cycle.

WSI wording on "Quick Reference for Physical &Occupational Therapist": The board discussed the wording under "treating practitioners" in a North Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance (WSI) document that included athletic trainers, physicians, osteopaths and chiropractors as practitioners that may provide therapy. It was the board's consensus that this did not mean those practitioners could hold themselves out to be physical therapists but rather it just allows them to charge for their services under certain CPT codes. The board asked Brittany Anderson, the board's physical therapist liaison from the NDPTA, to discuss this with the North Dakota chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association (ND-APTA) which will be meeting May 8, 2020. The board took no action on the matter.

<u>Licensure Stats</u>: Bruce Wessman presented the board with the total number of licensees as of May 2020. Currently there are 950 physical therapists licensed by the board, with 785 listing North Dakota as their work state. There are 176 board licensed physical therapist assistants, with 140 listing North Dakota ND as their work state.

Budget: Bruce Wessman presented a preliminary budget for July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021. Regarding the board's annual audit, Dave Relling moved to accept the bid of Brady Martz of \$3,250.00. This was seconded by Cassie Christensen and approved unanimously. It was moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Dan Conn, and approved unanimously to put \$5,000 in the budget to assist the ND-APTA with its continuing education program. Following a discussion regarding staff salaries, it was moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Marcus Hieb, and passed unanimously to include funds to give the administrative assistant a \$1.00 per hour raise and to give the board's attorney and executive officer \$100 per month increases. It was then moved by Dave Relling, seconded by Dan Conn and approved unanimously to accept the proposed budget as amended.

<u>CJIS Renewal</u>: Bruce Wessman reminded board members that for some of them the two-year renewal date on their Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) training and certification is coming due soon.

<u>Election of Officers</u>: Jeanne DeKrey and Dan Conn were nominated and elected unanimously to serve as the board's President and Vice President, respectively, for the coming year.

<u>Next Meeting Date</u>: The NDBPT will hold its next meeting at the Wheeler Wolf Law Firm in Bismarck, ND, on Monday, September 21, 2020, beginning at 9am.

No further business appearing, President Jeanne DeKrey adjourned the meeting at 9:50AM.

/S/ Bruce Wessman
Executive Officer

/S/ Jeanne DeKrey Board President