

Physical Therapy Compact Commission Annual Meeting Minutes

October 24, 2021 Via Zoom

DELEGATES PRESENT:

Kathy Arney, North Carolina, Chair Harvey Aikman, Texas, Vice Chair

Jeanne DeKrey, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Charlotte Martin, Louisiana, Executive Board at large Corie Tillman Wolf, Virginia, Executive Board At large Judd Warren, South Carolina, Executive Board At Large

Kathy Miller, Alabama Joshua Greer, Arizona

LaTrice Herndon, District of Columbia

Devashree Singh, Delaware Anne Thompson, Georgia

Venus Vendoures-Walsh, Iowa

Sean Bagbey, Indiana Susan Gile, Kansas

Stephen Curley, Kentucky

Laurie Kendall-Ellis, Maryland

Douglas Roll, Mississippi Jimmy Leggett, Missouri

Jenn Noel, Montana

Claire Covert-ByBee, Nebraska

Nicole Lavoie, New Hampshire

Richard Stoneking, New Jersey

Jennifer Wissinger, Ohio

Kelly Berry, Oklahoma

Aubree Benson, Oregon

Cindy Potter, Pennsylvania

Margaret Hansen, South Dakota

David Harris, Tennessee

Mark Steinagel, Utah

Jennifer Aglubat, Washington

Kathryn Zalewski, Wisconsin

Nonnie Holcomb, West Virginia

DELEGATES ABSENT: Rob Tillman, Arkansas

Lorey Bratten, Colorado

EX OFFICIO DELEGATES PRESENT: Daniel Markels, APTA

David Relling, FSBPT

LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT: Doug Wolfberg

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT: T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

Linda Michelson, CFO

Call to Order

Chair Kathy Arney called the meeting to Order at 3:11 p.m.ET.

Roll Call

Secretary/Treasurer Jeanne DeKrey called the roll. A total of thirty-two delegates were present. Two delegates were absent.

2020 Minutes

The minutes of the October 25, 2020, annual meeting were previously approved by the Minutes Approval Committee [Nonnie Ramsey (West Virginia), Joseph Shanley (New Hampshire), Devashree Singh (Delaware), Judd Warren (South Carolina)] and no further action is required.

<u>Introductions and Acknowledgement of Guests</u> – Chair Kathy Arney

Appointment of the Minutes Approval Committee

Chair Arney appointed the following delegates to approve the October 24, 2021, Physical Therapy Compact Commission meeting minutes.

- Jennifer Aglubat, Washington
- Nonnie Holcomb, West Virginia
- Judd Warren, South Carolina

Appointment of the Teller Committee

Chair Arney appointed the following people to the Teller Committee.

- Missy Anthony
- Karen Gordon

<u>Chair's Introductory Comments and Updates</u> – Chair Kathy Arney

Review and Adopt Rule Amendments

There were no public comments received regarding the proposed rule amendments. No comments or requests were made for a formal hearing; therefore, the Commission was permitted to make a final decision without a formal hearing.

There were no questions on the proposed Rules from Delegates or the public.

Motion: Adopt the proposed Rules amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

Review and Adopt Bylaws Amendments

There were no questions on the proposed Bylaws amendments from Delegates or the public.

Motion: Adopt the proposed Bylaws amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

Review and Adopt Policies and Procedures Amendments

There were no questions on the proposed policies and procedures amendments from Delegates or the public.

Motion: Adopt the proposed Bylaws amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

2021 Review and 2022 Projection Q&A

T.J. Cantwell answered questions regarding the highlights of activities and accomplishments during 2021 and projections for 2022.

2021 Legislative Update Q&A

T.J. Cantwell answered questions regarding the 2021 legislative activities and projections for 2022.

Elections

Per Bylaws, four positions on the PTCC Executive Board were open for election; Chair, Secretary/Treasurer, and three Member-At-Large seats (two for two-year terms and one to fill a vacant seat for the remaining year of a two-year term).

The slate of candidates for the open positions:

- Kathy Arney for Vice Chair
- Charlotte Martin and Judd Warren for Secretary/Treasurer
- Jennifer Aglubat and David Harris for Member-At-Large

There were no nominations from the floor.

All present delegates voted for the Vice Chair and Secretary/Treasurer positions.

Kathy Arney was elected Chair.

Charlotte Martin was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Per Bylaws, Judd Warren was slated for a Member-At-Large position. There were no nominations from the floor.

All delegates voted for the three Member-At-Large positions.

Jennifer Aglubat and Judd Warren were elected to the two-year term Member-At-Large positions.

David Harris was elected to the one-year term Member-At-Large position.

Review and Adopt Budget

Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey provided an overview of the proposed 2022 annual budget.

Motion: Adopt the proposed 2022 budget as submitted. The motion passed.

Identification of Committees and Appointments

Chair Arney provided the Commission with a list of volunteer appointments to the Elections, Rules and Bylaws, Compliance, and Finance Committees. No additional volunteers were added and no objections were made; therefore, the appointments were made as follows:

Elections Committee

Mark Steinagel Kathy Zalewski

Compliance Committee

Charlotte Martin, Chair Jennifer Aglubat Karen McIntyre Sherri Paru Cindy Potter Mark Steinagel

Finance Committee

Charlotte Martin, Chair Missy Anthony Claire Covert-Bybee Nonnie Holcomb Laurie Kendall-Ellis

Rules and Bylaws Committee

Harvey Aikman, Chair Katie Dale David Harris Michelle Sigmund-Gaines Anne Thompson Corie Tillman Wolf

Opportunity for Public Comment and Questions

Chair Arney opened the floor for public comment. There were no comments.

Special Acknowledgements

Chair Arney recognized and thanked individuals for their support of the PT Compact Commission.

Future Commission Meeting Dates

The Executive Board and Committees will meet on an as-needed basis throughout the year. The next annual Commission meeting will be in-person on Sunday, October 30, 2022, in Orange County, California.

Other Business

There was no additional business.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The October 24, 2021, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission was adjourned by Chair Arney at 4:52 p.m., ET.