Reinstatement Application

The following outlines general license information.

License Fee Schedule

North Dakota licensing cycle expires January 31st each year. Applicants must pay a $200 application fee plus the current criminal background fee.

Application Fee $ 200.00
Criminal Background Check Fee $ 41.25
Additional Fee Information:
  • Credit or Debit card payment must be remitted at time of application submission.
  • The application fee is non-refundable.

Application and Documentation Information

The requirements for applying for licensure with North Dakota & taking the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) are as follows:

  1. Complete the online license application.
    • Once your application is received, a BCI fingerprint packet will be mailed to you.
    • Documentation for any "yes" answers to the legal questions.
  2. Juris Prudence: This is an open book exam which can be completed by using up the Rules & Regulations and ND PT Practice Act located under Regulations in the menu bar.
    • Note: The Juris Prudence is included in the online application. The Juris Prudence Exam must be passed prior to issuance of a license.
  3. Upload a copy of any current license(s).
  4. Contact all states you hold/held a license in and have that Board send a verification of your license to the ND Board. You might also find this service available to you on some state's websites to download and scan to the ND Board.
  5. Upload letters from the department supervisor or human resources from the last two places of employment, verifying employment.

If you have not been employed as a Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant during the past 3 years or have not passed the NPTE, you must contact the ND Board of PT.

Eligibility for permanent licensure is only possible upon receipt and review of all required documents and verification of license(s).

ADA Accommodations

Please refer to the FSBPT website,, for the NPTE Handbook, the school codes and general information regarding the examination.

Application Status

Once all of the requirements and fees have been submitted the board will review your application and applicable documents. You will receive notification once your application has been approved.

To check the status of your license application log onto the Application Status.

Continuing Competence Requirements

All physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must obtain twenty-five units of continuing competence every two years to be eligible for licensure renewal. There shall be no carryover of continuing competence units to the next reporting period.

If you have questions you may view the Practice Act, the Rules & Regulations and an explanation of continuing competence requirements can be viewed on our site located under Regulations in the menu bar.

License Renewal

The license renewal fee is $100. Licenses must be renewed by January 31st every year. A license that has not been renewed by Januarty 31st is an expired license.

Once a license has expired, the person who held the expired license may not practice under state law. A person whose license has expired but who continues to practice is grounds for board discpline.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the board.


Page Updated: 3/1/2024 11:00:57 AM